If you need a more accessible version of this website, click this button on the right. Switch to Accessible Site

WARNING

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

Call Us Today

619-596-2594
m

BANNER

Interstate agent for Wheaton World Wide Moving
 Click here to request a FREE San Diego Moving Quote - No obligation moving estimate for international shipping, local San Diego movers or long distance cross country out of state moving from San Diego

MTS.jpg

Read reviews about our local San Diego moves
& testimonials about our long distance moving services

McCarthy Transfer & Storage has been a San Diego moving company for over 95 years. Many of our customers have taken the time to write a review of the great moving service that have received. When choosing a moving company, we know how valuable current customers' opinions can be - Read our customer  testimonials.

May 2017 "Our driver, C.J. Goodrich, made this experience awesome. We would recommend your company because of him. He really put customer service over the top."

May 2017 "Everyone on the team was professional and good at what he was doing. Worked hard (the trucker) at loading and unloading; I'm sorry that I packed too many heavy things that could have caused back problems - Benjamin and crew were so patient and kind while working so hard. I wouldn't recommend any other movers than Wheaton/Bekins. Thank you." (Driver: Benjamin Kelchner)

"Due to jobs, we have moved 17 times. We have used Truda agent and CJ driver for the last 4 moves and they have been complex moves. Truda and CJ have been EXCELLENT and we will definitely use them for our future moves. We have had a history of movers and Truda & CJ are THE BEST. The price is not the lowest but the value is more important to us. We highly recommend them, they are easily accessible and get back to us in a timely manner. Our belongings are in good hands with them." The Hundleys - Pam, Tim, Nick & Amy

The driver, Martin Curiel, was excellent. He was professional, careful with my belongings, and extremely helpful. He is the best mover I have ever had. - W. Kuo

"Really liked our driver, Martin Curiel."

"Wonderful experience. Doug Wiltse (mover) was outstanding and can't say enough great things."

"Overall, I was satisfied with everything...McCarthy Transfer sent over very engaging packers – nice men, very personable and I enjoyed getting to know them. The Wheaton driver Ellis Toodle did call and introduce himself and then did call my husband the day before he would arrive to meet him at the apartment and then the self-storage."

"Our driver, Lloyd Downs, was the best. I really am grateful for his orderly, professional friendly expertise. I'd use Lloyd Downs again in a heartbeat."

"CJ Goodrich – driver who was same at pick-up and delivery was excellent! Extremely nice,
astute and...has excellent customer service skills. He was the best I have had, and I have
moved 10 times in the last 25 years."

"The truck driver, Martin Curiel, kept me informed of delivery and arrived on schedule. You can tell he takes pride in his work and tries hard to deliver the best service."

"The two young men in California who loaded my things were just wonderful. I believe their names were Marco and Ken. CJ Goodrich, the driver who brought my things to Idaho, was also wonderful. Kept me posted on when he would be here. And, the two gentlemen who helped CJ unload my things in Idaho were also just great. It was a pleasure to work with everyone from start to finish."

"Martin Curiel and Steven were my driver and unloader. They were very professional and polite."

"Our driver, Doug Wiltse, was great. He made our move so easy. He always let us know
where/when he would arrive, and all our stuff made it safe and sound. I will recommend
Doug and McCarthy Transfer/Wheaton to all my friends."

The service from the local Wheaton Company in Annapolis was great. The phone conversations were friendly and helpful. ...An additional comment is that the truck driver, Martin Curiel. He was the best, most friendly and professional mover we have had in 18 years of service, 6 over seas moves and 3 CONUS moves.

"The driver, Martin Curiel, made this move exceptional. His professionalism, efficiency and courteousness were very much appreciated. He managed his crew well and knew what was going on at all times. He was responsive and communicated very well. By the end of the move, he was one of the family. His example should be what you measure all other drivers against. A+++++"

"Moving can be a traumatic experience. Wheaton made this move from Chicago to Arizona a painless process. We would especially like to thank our driver, Martin Curiel, who did an outstanding job on both the loading in Chicago and unloading in Arizona. I would highly recommend Wheaton World Wide Moving for a move across the street or across the country. Outstanding Job!"

"Over all the move went very well. We had never moved across country before. The driver, Doug
Wiltse
, was very professional and handled the loading and loading very well. The local agents'
packers were efficient and respectful of our items. All came through with flying colors. The driver
communicated with us on delivery time very well; allowing us to take care of various things at the
destination before he arrived. He took a lot of the stress out of the move..."

""The driver, Martin Curiel, was excellent in his handling of our belongings and keeping in contact. Our belongings were delivered when he stated they would be and he was very efficient, trustworthy and personable. He guided all his workers with professionalism and knowledge He obviously had been in this business a long time and we would recommend him as a driver to any of our friends, business associates and neighbors alike."

August 2017 "Martin and his crew did an excellent job and were great to work with. And Truda in the office was a font of information which we really appreciated. Also Mark gave us a good estimate, was also knowledgeable, and prepared my grandfather clock for moving before we had decided on a moving company. Wonderful customer service from the entire crew. Thanks! " Sandra E. San Diego, CA to Tennessee

June 23, 2017 I just had the pleasure of having Manny's crew - Derrick, Jorge and Anthony (Fish) spend the past 2 days packing up our house for a cross country move. They were clean, fast and fun to have around. They took excellent care of our belongings and I appreciated their hard work. We would definitely recommend this crew for your packing/moving needs. Jeri H.

- June 14, 2017 Excellent service.  I called and spoke with Truda.  While she couldn't meet my timeline (short notice), she did give me some great ideas and hooked me up with alternate company.  Because of her helpfulness and expertise, I used McCarthy for packing.  The guys were fantastic.  They were professional, careful, and easy to work with.  They kept me updated on their estimated arrival and they finished the job in a fraction of the time.  My things transported without a single ding or scratch.  Everything was well packed.  These guys knew what they were doing.  I would like to add Truda's communication is excellent and she is really on the ball.  She thinks things through and makes sure you're prepared with supplies and any issue you may come across (bulkhead, etc).  I highly recommend McCarthy. - Tina J

April 3, 2017 - "Everyone that I had contact with on this move was absolutely tremendous. Helpful at all times, very professional, very friendly and easy to work with. I'd recommend this company to anyone. Worth every penny."  - W. Wade, Move from San Diego, CA to Cedar Falls, IA

March 2017 - C.J. Goodrich, Driver, McCarthy Transfer & Storage, Inc. – Recognized by a customer "We recommend your services completely. We especially give high praise to our driver, C.J. Goodrich. He is such a personable and enjoyable person. C.J. was always available during the time on the road with our household goods. He was always happy and seems to thoroughly enjoy his work. We loved working with him and his crews in CA and in IA. It was a very pleasant experience
moving across several states and we owe a lot of that to C.J. Thank you."


January 11, 2017 - Moving from San Diego to Hawaii


12/14/16  "Just had a great packout with McCarthy!  They are well versed in military moves, and were extremely efficient and courteous. Estimate came in well over actual, but it allowed the workers to have enough packing materials.  Highly recommend!" M.S. Chula Vista, CA

11/30/16 ..."Wanted to thank you for the excellent packing. Everything arrived in great shape!" - Diane G. International Shipping Customer San Diego, CA to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

10/1/16 ..."I recently moved from California to Arkansas and had a great experience with the driver your company provided.... Let me know if there is something I can do or fill out to compliment the driver. Thanks!!!!" Nicholas B.

9/30/16 "Everything went very well yesterday. The two men were excellent." 
- E. Jorda. International Shipping customer San Diego, CA to Spain


  08/18/16 - "I would give them a 10 if possible! We originally planned on a 1 day move but just before the move day found out our closing was delayed so we needed to keep our household goods in temporary storage. Truda juggled the schedule and was able to set this up for us on short notice. We ended up needing a few more days of storage and they accommodated our schedule. Even though we were in a tough spot, they gave us very reasonable storage prices and we barely went over the initial budget, even with the extra storage time.

Manny and his crew were very professional and did an excellent job packing, loading and unloading our stuff with no damage. They were so good we doubled our initial tip.

If you are doing a local move in San Diego McCarthy Transfer & Storage is the company to use!"  - Chris S., Winchester, CA


08/03/16 - "Thanks for everything! The guys were terrific! So polite and efficient! - Margie, Lakeside, CA


07/30/16 - "Omg! Manny and his team were awesome! I have moved several times ... With Hidden Valley and Ace and they were by far the best. They were so hard working and professional! Thank you for all your help and I will definitely be using McCarthy in the future!" - A. Abraham, San Diego, CA to Rancho San Diego, CA

  05/09/2016 We had an awesome experience with McCarthy Transfer & Storage. As an active duty military family, we have utilized professional movers many times, and this was one of the best experiences. Martin was the absolute PERFECT driver for the job. He has excellent communication skills and went above and beyond the typical mover experience. He called the day before to ensure a smooth pick up, and when he heard we were in a time crunch, he volunteered to start early at 6:30 am. Wow. We were so impressed and grateful. On moving day we were again impressed with their punctuality, professionalism, great attitudes, and hard work ethic. They were very careful with our furniture and took great care of our things. They were very friendly and more than helpful. They went above and beyond in all things and even took the time to honk the horn of the truck for all of the neighborhood kids who had gathered to see them off.  We 100% recommend and would like to say thank you for such a positive experience! Amy E.


04/20/16 We just wanted to say thank you to you and the guys. Manny, Alan (AJ) and Douglas were amazing. They were efficient,  prompt,  courteous, and all around great guys. We can't say enough about them.

Thanks again! Lisa & Peter B.


09/10/2015 Wow! What a great team! Fast, professional, clean cut, affordable, fun and prompt beginning with my first conversation with Truda who put it together to the 4 men who moved mountains of our belongings and even managed to balance caution with speed and efficiency! Our heartiest 5 Star recommendation! Joyce H. Alpine, CA

 
7/9/2015     If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. From my first call for an estimate to the last box was unloaded, McCarthy Transfer was awesome. To start, they came and did an in home estimate BEFORE the move. This was awesome, because who wants to pay for the wrong sized truck or for more help than you really need? Thomas and Truda were so helpful in giving me tips and advice on packing and prepping before the move. This definitely helped the crew be more efficient on moving day, and it also made unpacking for us easy as well! Oh, and I was able to get plenty of boxes and packing materials free from their warehouse.

Our moving day crew Tony, Greg, and Mikey were great. They were so efficient, professional, and we really felt confident our belongings were in good hands! I moved a 2 story 4 bath, 3 bedroom house with a garage and a yard. They had the house packed in the truck ready to drive to the new place in just a few hours. My grandmother was here to help take care of the kids during the move, and she was also impressed. She said that in her personal experience with numerous navy moves over the years, she has never seen a crew as good as the one we had.

We definitely have another move at some point in the future, and I will for sure be calling McCarthy again to help move me and my family. Thank you guys so much!!  - Cathy P.

05/29/15  At this website, the first picture shown is of Brian and Martin. Fortunately they were assigned to move us from San Diego to Phoenix.   They were accommodating, fun to work with, and could not have done a better job.  Martin's character and punctuality, honed in the military, were qualities needed and appreciated to supervise this move.  We're sure other McCarthy crews are just as professional based on our experience interacting with many company employees for six months.

Read about the company on their excellent website and then call Truda.  She will patiently answer all your questions and manage the entire move. Tom McCarthy is also personally involved with every interstate move.  Since we had a difficult and constantly changing home closing date, he offered to drive the van to Phoenix himself if Martin and Brian weren't available on a certain date.  The closing did change again and it wasn't necessary, but it speaks to the professionalism and integrity of the company.  To further accommodate us, they stored 15,000 pounds on their premises for a couple of days. Incredible!

Everyone in the warehouse was helpful also in supplying us with all the unusual size boxes and tape we needed at no charge.  We packed everything else in apple boxes supplied by grocery stores.

A retired friend, who spent a career in the moving business, said McCarthy's reputation is outstanding-certainly get a quote from them.  Their performance definitely proved that to be true.  The quotation also was less than two major competitors. - D. THIELECKE

 4/17/2015 The moving crew that help me pack today was very professional and extra polite. I feel very comfortable that my belongings are safe! We are in the military and appreciate their services. I would highly recommend them for future services. K. Jefferson

04/13/15 We had a delivery this morning, the guys communicated their time and day of arrival previously in a professional manner. they arrived early with a great energetic attitude this morning. Only two guys came but borne of them worked so hard all morning to get our delivery done in a timely manner, very professional company and friendly which made things easier for both parties. I will definitely recommend them to my friends and use them in the future for any other moving services. Edith G.

1/23/2015 I cannot thank Martin and his crew enough for making this move a positive one! I heard such horror stories from friends about moving with the military, but these guys proved all of those stories to be false! Martin, Brian, and the other gentlemen (I'm sorry I cannot remember his name) were friendly, efficient, and very respectful of our things.

Truda was also very nice and helpful on the phone. She called us as soon as our things arrived at their storage facility. After we arrived and found a place to call home, she quickly scheduled delivery of our goods and arranged for debris removal when the time came.

Martin, Brian, Truda and the entire McCarthy Transfer & Storage crew made this move one that will be hard to beat! Thank you again.
- Deborah B - Chula Vista, CA

12/16/14  I recently moved from San Diego to Seattle for work. I've always just moved my own stuff (with help from family and friends of course) but with this move being long distance, I decided to go with movers. I packed all of my own stuff to save on cost, and after calling a few companies, I decided to go with McCarthy. They had competitive pricing, and actually sent someone to my house to complete the estimate- which was a binding offer, so no surprises with the final bill.

Truda was great to work with from the first time I called to inquire to the last day when she called to confirm my move in date. She was friendly, knowledgable, and genuinely cares about her clients. When I stopped by their El Cajon facility to sign the initial paperwork, Truda showed me where my stuff would be stored (30 days free) and then proceeded to help me load my car with boxes, packing tape, and packing paper (also free!). Because I don't have a big car, she made a note to send some large wardrobe boxes when the movers came with the truck. The guys that moved me out (sorry- forgot their names!) were great. They called when they were running late (traffic) and were very efficient with documenting and loading of my stuff. When I found a place to live in Seattle, Truda gave me a window of just over a week as to when the truck would arrive with my stuff.

I was pleasantly surprised when I received a call from Martin saying he was on his way and would be arriving on the earliest possible day- I was able to have everything delivered the same day I received my apartment keys! I even had to push this date back one day when I had a delay getting my keys- but it was still not a problem. Martin and Brian (I think...) were very friendly and efficient at unloading everything. They put boxes and furniture in their places and put my bed, kitchen table, bike and desk back together. They paid attention to details, even making sure my table was centered under the dining room light! After unpacking, I'm happy to report everything arrived as I packed it- no damages to anything. So glad I found McCarthy, they made my move easy and worry free! Daniel C. San Diego, CA to Seattle, WA


We recently moved from San Diego, CA to Las Vegas, NV.  I was a bit concerned about the horror stories we read online about moving companies.  My wife found McCarthy Transfer & Storage and we worked Truda to get a professional quote.    After comparing the quotes from other companies we decided to put our faith in Truda / McCarthy, and they more than delivered.  Martin and Brian were awesome. They swiftly packed up all our goods, and stored our clothes in garment boxes (no need to put closet clothes in boxes.) They disassembled a massive crib and took extra care with our paintings.  They used a nice inventory system that logs all items with red stickers.  After weighing our goods McCarthy actually ended up lowering their initial quote which was a nice surprise.    Martin was in communication the entire time during the move. He gave us updates on how far they were away. Once they showed up they laid down plastic to protect the high-traffic route up the stairs and began unloading.   After watching the guys unload, mostly self-directed, I had full faith and let them finish up on their own. I signed the acceptance documents and they locked up for us.    Painless moving, delivered on-time, and under budget.  I highly recommend the team at McCarthy.  Best,  Brandon


I am so glad that I found McCarthy. I had heard so many stories of bad experiences with moving, and had already rejected 2 companies, but working with McCarthy's erased all my worries. They were so awesome! Martín and Brian did an excellent job, were easy to get along with, totally accommodating, and had good music playing too! I could hardly believe how smoothly everything went. A real success! I would say that the company is both very professional & caring. Truda was also helpful and even stopped by during the move.

Nikki E - San Diego, CA to Woodland, CA


Amazing! !!! I highly recommend this company for any of your moving needs. I highly recommend Martin Curiel and his co worker Brian Merrill. I had to move my grandma who has dementia from San Diego to Tucson and not only were they wonderful packers and movers they were extremely empathetic to my situation.  They were extremely personable which was extremely helpful in my situation. I can not say enough wonderful things about these two and the company they work for. Yes I absolutely recommend them!!

Mindy O.
San Diego, CA to Arizona.


9/25/14 - "I would like to thank you and your company for helping us with our move. Tom and his crew were just fantastic. They did a great job. My wife and I are very pleased with your service. Tom and his crew went above and beyond their duties. They had a great attitude and they worked very hard to make sure we had all we needed moved and in place.  They helped us move a big heavy fountain to the back yard which was a huge accomplishment and we greatly appreciate all of their hard work.  They were very friendly and polite at all times. Again, thank you so much and please make sure to thank Tom and his crew! "

Marco T.
EDCO Sales & Marketing


 

J. Clark (Texas to San Diego, CA)
Trinity Property Consultants


User Photo

Friend Count23
Review Count52

Michael S.
I'm not a cool Yelper like Michael F.
San Diego, CA

5 star rating8/15/2014

"We were in a long-term relationship with this company: A crew came and loaded up our belongings into vaults, they then stored those vaults in their warehouse for nearly three months, and then one of their drivers transported our belongings to our new home 1,000+ miles away and unloaded everything. From initial consultation to the moving truck driving away from the new home, we were "in a relationship" with McCarthy for four months. It couldn't have been a better experience.

The initial consultation was very comprehensive. Thomas walked our entire house, backyard and garage space by space, taking very thorough notes in order to provide a precise estimate (and offering helpful packing advice at every turn). He even brought us a stack of free boxes.

Before moving day, I made several trips to their warehouse, where they had lots of used boxes free for the taking. Each time I visited, Thomas again offered helpful advice to help us get ready for the move.

On moving day, the crew was on time, friendly and hard-working, and did a great job of laying down blankets, wrapping door jambs and taking other protective measures. They also took great care wrapping furniture and other items to protect them during transfer.

Thomas had previously given me a tour of their warehouse, so I knew our belongings would be well protected from the elements while they were stored for several months. He also included two months of storage in the price we paid, and when our storage went over to nearly three months, he gave us that extra storage time at no charge.

When our new home was finally ready for move-in, the company was flexible in giving us a two-day delivery window (on a weekend), and they were ultimately able to arrive on our preferred date of those two days. The unloading process went flawlessly (again with a friendly and hard-working crew), with everything placed in the home where we directed. One of the crew spent more than an hour laying down blankets and cardboard and wrapping door jambs and stair bannisters, so that no furniture pieces or boxes ever made contact with the house until placed in their final resting place.

If you're still reading this long review, then you'll understand why I wrote at such length: because this company continually impressed me with top-notch customer service at every stage of the move. I can't compliment them enough. The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the cost; but moving is expensive, and is largely based on weight, so their price was fair (and, frankly, I didn't mind paying it at all after receiving the level of service they gave us).

Bottom line: I'd rate this company 10 out of 10, and will definitely be calling them when we move again."

Moved from El Cajon Ca to Englewood. CO


06/07/14  - "Fantastic work from the team- extremely personable and professional! They worked quickly and carefully to pack and move our belongings! We'll be getting our personal belongings delivered in a few weeks- will update then! But as it stands, I'd definitely recommend the company and even go as far as suggesting you ask for Martin as your driver/leader!"  Carla J - Oceanside


05/16/14 "You are the best!   My dear I cannot thank you enough for your professionalism and words of advice. The entire move was completed without a hitch and totally seamless to Marissa and myself. It was so refreshing to deal with you and your company and at no time was I pulling my hair out , getting frustrated or experiencing a migraine.  My husband’s back is also very appreciative.  I will definitely refer your company to others and will use you again.  I never doubted your company for one minute." 

J. Evans (El Cajon, CA to Las Vegas, NV)


05/13/14 "We got back from Seattle yesterday, having gotten Alex (mostly) settled in.  We were very, very pleased with your company.  Tyler, the driver, was great, very accommodating and friendly and funny.  He and the people he hired were quick and efficient and careful and they got Alex's stuff loaded quickly and unloaded the same way, even though they had to get a smaller truck to shuttle everything to his apartment because of those small Seattle streets.  They worked hard and we greatly appreciated their efforts.  We would gladly recommend McCarthy and Tyler and Wheaton to anyone who needs a great moving company that offers great service at an amazingly competitive price.

Thanks again!"  Linda, Brian and Alex F. (San Diego, CA to Seattle, WA)


04/09/14 "I would like to commend you for the excellent service you provided me & my family.  You were very helpful, friendly, conscientious, knowledgeable & professional in your duties.  We sincerely appreciated your hard work & effort in efficiently handling the process of the transfer of our household goods from Hawaii to San Diego, CA.  It was such a pleasure working with you!  Thank you!

Please also extend my commendation to Micah & Carlos for a job well done in delivering & transferring our household goods to our new storage (A-1 Self-Storage at Alvarado Canyon Rd., on Wednesday, April 9, 2014, at 9:00 am).  Appreciated their punctuality, friendliness, hard work & careful handling of our boxes!

You are all assets to your organization!  We will definitely use your services again & will highly recommend your company to our family & friends!

With heartfelt Mahalo (Thank you), Naomi P." (Hawaii to San Diego, CA)


04/02/14 "Hi Truda. Just want to let you know how much I appreciate yours and Johns assistance in the move for my son.  You guys are pros......  Love your can do attitude.  Nothing was ever a problem.  And your referral to Bonnie for car transport was a great one.

I am thinking there will be more moves in Matt's future based on his career path and will definitely call on you guys again.  Thanks again. Patty G. (San Diego, CA to Olathe, KS)


03/06/14 " Hi Truda, I wanted to let you know that Chris came through and was great! He moved everything into my place and made sure I was happy with all of it!! Big kudos to you and Chris! Thanks for all! Take Care, Nicole" (San Diego, CA to Austin, TX)


10/28/13 "I would like to thank both of you for your professional and efficient level of service and on a job well done! 

More than often, many van lines make promises they cannot keep. They under bid and give unachievable timelines to get the work. You were upfront. You were on target with your estimates, there were no surprises and I greatly appreciate this.  I would not hesitate to recommend you.

Thanks again - Phyllis C,PhD (Clarksburg, MD)


Sept 2013 - Posted on Yelp.com

"This past week I moved from San Diego to Tucson. I called around and McCarthy was the ONLY one who came to my home for an estimate. I have a few valuable antiques that I couldn't replace, including a marble top on a Victorian chest. From beginning to end, there was no hype. Truda on the phone knew her stuff. John came for the estimate and carefully reiterated everything and wrote it down. The estimate was in the ball park.Tom and his guys came on S. Diego's hottest day and put all my furniture in new moving blankets, taped each one carefully so the furniture wouldn't slip, then shrink wrapped it all.  Amazing!  the few things I didn't know how to pack, they did it beautifully. From beginning to end, it was a pleasure to deal with McCarthy.I hope I don't have to move again, but if I do, I'm calling them.

Considerate, intelligent, and thorough. It all arrived in perfect shape. I even had a check list they gave me where they would yell out the number of what was going into the house so I could check it off to make sure everything arrived.

If you have things you value, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend McCarthy." - Suze M (Tucson, AZ)


August 16, 2013 - "I used McCarthy Transfer for a move to fort collins, colorado, including a local move into storage in san diego for two months, then delivery to fort collins.  Working with Truda was a pleasure!  she was very responsive to my many questions and worked with me to coordinate delivery to fort collins, which was a bit of a pain b/c i didn't have a place here when i left san diego.  The estimate from McCarthy Transfer was competitive, and i selected them based on Yelp reviews, as well as talking with them.  Both the local move and interstate move were done in a timely fashion and the employees at both ends were outstanding.  I'm very picky and high maintenance, and i can say with no hesitation that you won't regret using McCarthy Transfer. " Rick I - Ft Collins, CO


8/07/13  "The movers showed up on time and immediately began carefully packing the items that I hadn't already boxed. The crew was very efficient and demonstrated a good work ethic. The price was almost exactly as estimated. Although this was only a local move I wouldn't hesitate to entrust my household goods to McCarthy regardless of the extent of any future relocation. Jim Stieringer, La Mesa, California


May 2013 - "I found this business through http://Yelp.com reviews.
I contacted "Truda" and gave her my basic move information. I stressed to her that I did not have a lot of things, and that my move was only within 15 miles of my home.

I wanted minimize my costs and I did not want to get charged over  the quoted estimate.
Truda assured me that the movers would be on-time, and she gave me a very reasonable quote. My move is unique because I "pre-packed" and pre-moved" all my small and delicate/fragile items in advance------- leaving the heavy furniture for the pros. YOUR MOVE MAY BE DIFFERENT IF YOU DON'T PRE-PACK STUFF LIKE CLOTHING AND BREAKABLES!

Anyhow, the movers showed up on-time as promised, and went to work quickly wrapping my furniture and doorways to prevent damage.
They worked quickly and carefully. There was no change in the quoted price, and we finished ahead of the schedule. This was a basic move, yet the McCarthy movers, Michael and Anthony, were great! No breakage or damage, and everything was unpacked and placed in the house where I requested.

I highly recommend this company."


April 2013 - "First of all thank you so very very much for giving me your private cell phone number. Thats really unheard of in todays world. It also shows you are caring person to provide that, and a professional.

When Ramon arrived he wasn't happy with the situation at the Storage facility. He wanted no part of it. He said his truck would not make those kind of turns (even though semi's (other moving vans, according to the manager have done this)

The pathways were huge, and the turning radius ample. He wasn't interested. He said I had two choices paying for someone to help him unload (my cost $200.) or a shuttle which he said would be considerably cheaper. At this point he was in the facility, but no turn made and I needed to make a decision. I said I was not paying for either I didn't understand if this facility has vans move in here, why can't he. He was steadfast. I had the storage manager's cell phone and got him out of church to return to assure Ramon that this would not be a problem. Ramon was taken back that he left church, actually think that helped as well. Ramon was worried, steadfast that this would not work and he wasn't going to do it. Thats when I called you, (sorry if I was exploding). Whatever you said, worked. Amazingly his attitude changed his demur was pleasant and he just got down to the unloading immediately. He worked hard, he was professional and when asked if we could assist, he said no. He said he packs his truck himself and he knows who's is who's stuff. We had a huge heavy rug on this load. it took 3 guys in Santee to carry it on the truck there. Ramon (who is a little guy) did it with a hand truck, by himself. He asked how we would like to have it arranged in the storage space, and even set up a make shift table for us with box's. I think he is a kind man, when he heard that this stuff was what I had let of my recently unexpectedly passed brother he was kinder if that is possible. We came together as adversaries, and I believe we parted ways as friends. I wished him safe travels, and he wished me peace.

 Thank you again for all that you did to help with this sad move. I am deeply appreciative. From the box's to the paper and tape given to us, McCarthy transfer provided us with professionalism and kindness. Amazing in this day!

 Suze  (Richland, WA)


August 26, 2012 "I am very pleased with everything involved with the recent move of items from my parents home. Just to let you know, I got two simultaneous bids on the job, which were very close. But I chose McCarthy mostly because of you. You were always pleasant and helpful on the phone and you always had time for me. ...The driver, Doug Cornutt, was also amazing. he brought in everything all by himself and was very pleasant. ... I will definitely plan on using your company again when Paul and I move back home to San Diego...or Hawaii if we win the lottery. All of you made this so smooth and easy. Thanks again, Elanor C." (Seattle, Washington)


7-14-12 I want to thank you for an excellent move your company did for me last week.  The four gentlemen were professional, fast, and courteous.  They wrapped my furniture with care and everything made the move without incident. They drove quickly to my new home in Alpine and took the time to put everything in place and assemble the beds.

I have recommended your company to several of my friends who are planning a move in the near future. If I ever need another move, (which I hope I won’t J) I would not hesitate to call you. Thank you again for your excellent service. I am so glad you sent me a card in the mail regarding your company.

Most sincerely,  Mary L. (Alpine, CA)


6-21-12 "I want to personally thank you for coordinating my son's move from San Diego to Portland. Everything was done in a professional manner and timed perfectly. We were there when they moved him in and my husband and I were so pleased that we were able to help him set up his apartment before we had to leave for home.

 Thank you again for everything you did and the extra mile you went for us. "

 Sincerely, Margaret C (Portland, OR)


4/28/12 - ...Ernesto and his crew were top notch in every aspect of the moving process.  From hour 1 to the last minute of the move, they conducted themselves in very professional, efficient and courteous manner. The crew made sure nothing was to be damaged in both houses as the move progressed.

I also commend the crew on their knowledge of safety protocols. Not once did I feel they were carrying things unsafely or precariously to possibly injure themselves or others working with them. You trained them well.  

I would highly recommend you give them $1000 bonus, but you and I both know that's not gonna happen......LOL! So, At least a simple genuine gesture of gratitude on my part is due. 

Again thank you for a job well done and we will be recommending McCarthy  to all our friends and neighbors who will be moving anytime soon.  

See you in a couple of years when we do it all over again,

 Sincerely,  Manuel and Helen N (Chula Vista)


4/7/12 - We are always thankful for the feedback we get but are very thankful as well for the satisfied customer that goes out of their way to hand write a note letting us know!

andersentestimonial.jpg


2/8/12 "Both Micah and Carlos were very friendly and took good care of our belongings.": - Erik Andrews San Diego, CA

Christine S. (El Cajon, CA) wanted to share a review of McCarthy Transfer & Storage

1/18/12

We have used McCarthy several times for moving to and from homes and storage units...and every time I'm completely impressed with their professionalism, willingness to go above and beyond (especially between numerous locations), how great the movers are and how fast they work.  The final price even beat their quote, which doesn't happen with other movers.  Trust them...USE THEM!!


Barbara H (Felton, CA) wanted to share a review of McCarthy Transfer & Storage

1/07/12

I have moved at least 25 times in the last 50 years, from Maine to California, and my recent move from San Diego to the Santa Cruz area was by far the best long distance move I have ever experienced.  Even though the load included some valuable paintings and furniture there was no damage of any kind and the people involved were not only very competent but friendly and helpful at all times.

1/6/12 From Nicole S (San Diego) - Pat and Jim (?) were wonderful. They were extremely organized, had a great system for verifying the item numbers, were friendly, and did a great job. I was quite pleased with their work. They were even early to my house, and worked very efficiently. Thank you very much!

01/04/12 from Yahoo Local from Kari - "McCarthy Transfer and Storage was extremely helpful and professional throughout the entire move process. They packed and loaded my belongings with care and were responsive to all my questions/concerns. Great customer service from start to finish."

12/30/11- "Everyone did a great job and they were very agreeable. I give everyone an A for everything." - Anthony S.

12/29/11 "I'm happy to report all parties were very professional and courteous.  Thank you for the assistance and safe shipping g of my house hold goods."

Very Respectfully,   Bradley S. Hazen LCDR, NC, USN

Christina B. wanted to share a review of McCarthy Transfer & Storage

12/28/11

I was really impressed with this moving company.  Truda was very helpful on the phone.  I had never moved before and she gave me lots of tips for packing.  She also hooked me up with some free "used" boxes which saved me lots of $$.   She said if I was struggling with the packing I could add a mover up until the day before the move- and I did.  It was great to have an extra pair of hands to help with the last minute packing.  The guys were very professional and nice.  They were friendly even when I asked them to move furniture to different rooms after changing my mind.  I have no regrets with this company and would use them again in a second.

Read this review on Yelp

12/28/11 - "This moving company McCarthy Transfer and Storage was outstanding. Their professionalism and timing was terrific. It made the whole experience of moving a joy. They were relentless even when they ran over time and brought in another man. I cannot say enough about how  great they were. I have recommended them to friends and a real estate company. God bless them all and happy holidays."  Sincerely, Mary Mariuz (La Mesa, CA)

12/20/11 - "The movers today were quick and efficient and did everything I needed done and put together.  They were very courteous and friendly.  Thanks!"  Patrick T (San Diego, CA)

12/13/11 - "The service I received was outstanding.  The gentlemen who delivered my HHG were very friendly and helpful.  Thank you!"  Brenda Smith (San Diego, CA)

12/12/11 - "Thank you for your great service.  I really enjoyed speaking with Clint.  He was friendly, polite, and professional.  I would recommend your company to anyone I know.  Happy Holidays! Sincerely, Leslie V (San Diego, CA)

Andrea L. San Diego, CA 11/21/2011 

"Best moving experience I have had yet!  I have moved about 10 times in the past 15 years.  The overall experience from beginning till end was great.  I had a piano and 3 flights of stairs and they guys that moved me had a great attitude through all of it.  They never complained...and actually hummed through most of it...I HIGHLY recommend these guys!" on Yelp.com


12/1/2010 from Sandeep M Danbury, CT on Yelp 

"They were extremely prompt and very professional with my entire move. They took care of packing and moving all my furniture into the truck, storing it at the destination for one full month. The unpacking also was handled very professionally. I highly recommend them!"

7/22/2010 on Yelp from Marie F (San Diego, CA) - In our move out of San Diego, we were in contact with several companies. Most of these companies spammed us with email.  McCarthy Transfer was one of the few companies that did not send us a "low-ball" quote.  Thomas came out to visually inspect what we were moving and gave us a fair quote.  He also explained in person that the price may change due to what we opted to have them do (as in pack our kitchen vs. just loading boxes) and due to what the actual weight of our haul is.

He also stayed in communication with us to let us know when the truck left San Diego and when it was due to arrive in our city in Northern California.  Being that it has been a family-owned company, we feel it is a matter of pride to keep their reputation strong.  It is definitely worth calling them for a quote when shopping around.


5/4/2010 posted on Yelp by William J (San Francisco) - "We contracted with McCarthy Transfer & Storage to move our furniture from San Diego to San Francisco.  Everything from pickup to transport to installation was handled professionally and with a white glove treatment.  Many of our items were fragile and required gentile handling.  Everything arrived safe and without any damage or problems. We were very pleased with their people and their service "

4/30/10 posted on Yelp by C. Goodrich- 

"I was referred to this company by a friend. So glad I listened and contacted them for my move to Hawaii. I received great service, phone calls were returned promptly and everyone was friendly. Thomas was always there to help with information and ideas to save money and make the move easier.

Thomas even helped me find Pasha auto shippers. If you need to move an auto or motorcyle I recommend them highly.

Alan was also very helpful time and time again with regards to vaulting our household goods. Very friendly and always with a smile."


4/15/2010  posted on Yelp  "A friend of mine had used McCarthy Transfer in the past and just had nothing but wonderful things to say about them, so I decided to give it a go. Let me just say it was the best thing I could have done. The Company is family owned and operated they have been doing this for over 90 years! I think lol.  They have things under control. Thomas made sure to answer all of my questions and then gave me advised to help save me some money, on the day of the move Micah and his team showed up on time ready to work.  I have moved many other times but this time it was the least painful one yet. I am very happy that my friend (thanks Chris) told me about them.  Oh ya it took them about 5 hrs I was shocked it was so fast but they now what they are doing.

Thank you Thomas and Micah you made my move sooo much more pleasant.

 Angela R (Chula Vista, CA)


McCarthy Transfer & Storage ©
San Diego's Oldest Family Owned Moving Company
MC 720709 CAL T-154190
US DOT 70719 MC 87113
1386 Fayette Street - El Cajon California - 92020-1513
(800) 896-2594 - (619) 596-2594 - FAX (619) 596-1926

info@mccarthytransfer.com Privacy Policy Site Map